Phiv, Histocytologie and plant cell imaging platform

Histocytochemistry

Histology is the branch of the biology which examines tissues. The purpose is to explore their composition, their structure, their renewal, as well as the cell-to-cell communications therein.

Cytology, is a discipline of biology focussed the cells and their constituants, their vital processes as well as their mechanisms of evolution.

Histocytology, allows through various techniques such as Histochemistry, Histoenzymology, Histohybridization, Histoimmunolocalization as well as infrastructural Cytology (Transmission Electron Microscopy or TEM , Scanning Electron Microscopy or SEM) to approach the various structure-function relationships at the cell-to-tissue level.

I.e. to connect of the assets of the traditional (Anatomy) and molecular (in situ Hybridization, Immunolocalisation) Histology, allowing to understand the adaptive mechanisms, at the histocytologic level, of the main physiological functions of the plants. Histocytology becomes the essential complement of various disciplines, unavoidable on each time a biological phenomenon must be reported to an alive structure, organ, tissue, cell or organelles.

The histocytological approach has, these last years, largely widened its possibilities of investigation, in particular for the dynamic study of the living world. This enrichment was made possible by the improvement of micoscopes (Confocal, Multiphoton) and the development of increasingly powerful fluorescent probes.

© Cirad • imagerie@cirad.fr

Phiv, plateau d'histologie végétale

Histocytochimie

L'histologie est la branche de la biologie qui étudie les tissus. Elle a pour but d'explorer leur composition, leur structure, leur renouvellement, ainsi que les échanges cellulaires en leur sein.

La cytologie, est une discipline de la biologie étudiant les cellules et leurs organites, les processus vitaux qui s'y déroulent ainsi que les mécanismes permettant leur survie.

L’histocytologie, permet au travers de techniques diverses d’histochimie, d’histoenzymologie, d’histohybridation, d’histoimmunolocalisation sans oublier la cytologie infrastructurale (MET, MEB) d’aborder les différentes relations structure-fonction de la cellule tant au niveau cellulaire que tissulaire.

C’est à dire mettre en relation des acquis de l’histologie classique (Anatomie) et moléculaire (Hybridation in situ, Immunolocalisation), permettant de comprendre les mécanismes d’adaptation au niveau histocytologique des grandes fonctions physiologiques des végétaux. L’histocytologie devient le complément indispensable de diverses disciplines, ses méthodes s’imposent à chaque fois qu’un phénomène biologique doit être rapporté à une structure vivante, tissu, cellule ou organite.

L’étude histocytologique a, ces dernières années, élargi grandement ses possibilités d’investigation, en particulier pour l’étude dynamique du monde vivant. Cet enrichissement a été rendu possible par l’amélioration des moyens micoscopiques (Confocal, Multiphoton) et la mise au point de sondes fluorescentes de plus en plus performantes.